top of page
  • Writer's pictureYaDu

Yogi's way of embracing humanity and worshipping the divinity within.

Updated: Mar 16, 2023

"The Yogi is deemed greater than body-disciplining ascetics, greater even than the followers of the path of wisdom or the path of action; be thou, O Arjuna, a yogi!" - Bhagavad Gita VI:46

Who's a Yogi? In a narrower sense, anyone who practices yoga is a yogi.

What's Yoga? - Astanga yoga & its practices. Yoga also means 'balance & regulation in everything', just like nature has balance in everything.

A broader definition of Yogi;

श्रीभगवानुवाच | अनाश्रित: कर्मफलं कार्यं कर्म करोति य: | स संन्यासी च योगी च न निरग्निर्न चाक्रिय: ॥1॥ chapter 6

Trans.: The Blessed Lord said: He who performs an action which is his duty, without depending on the result of action, he is a monk and a yogi; (but) not (so in) he who does not keep a fire and is action-less.

Who's a Sanyasi?

A sage or a sanyasi is the who loves everyone but isn't attached to anybody, always worships the lord within him as well as the lord present everywhere.

God is omnipresent & omnipotent.

Ishavasyam Upanishath, in support of this says:

īśāvāsyam idam sarvaṁ

yat kiñca jagatyāṁ jagat

tena tyaktena bhuñjīthā

mā gṛdhaḥ kasya svid dhanam

īśa—by the Lord; āvāsyam—controlled; idam—this; sarvam—all; yat kiñca—whatever; jagatyām—within the universe;jagat—all that is animate or inanimate; tena—by Him;tyaktena—set-apart quota; bhuñjīthāḥ—you should accept;mā—do not; gṛdhaḥ—endeavor to gain; kasya svit—of anyone else; dhanam—the wealth.


Everything animate or inanimate that is within the universe is controlled and owned by the Lord. One should therefore accept only those things necessary for himself, which are set aside as his quota, and one should not accept other things, knowing well to whom they belong.


Lord Krishna in Chapter-6 of Bhagavad Gita says:

जितात्मन: प्रशान्तस्य परमात्मा समाहित:। शीतोष्णसुखदु:खेषु तथा मानापमानयो: ॥7॥

The supreme Self of one who has control over the aggregate of his body and organs, and who is tranquil, becomes manifest. (He should be equipoised) [These words are supplied to complete the sentence.] in the midst of cold and heat, happiness and sorrow, as also honour and dishonour.

A Yogi's interpretation of humanity - creation & children of God,a reflection of paramatma(bhagavadgita),

विद्याविनयसम्पन्ने ब्राह्मणे गवि हस्तिनि |

शुनि चैव श्वपाके च पण्डिता: समदर्शिन: || 18||

vidyā-vinaya-sampanne brāhmaṇe gavi hastini

śhuni chaiva śhva-pāke cha paṇḍitāḥ sama-darśhinaḥ

BG 5.18: The truly learned, with the eyes of divine knowledge, see with equal or one vision a Brahmin, a cow, an elephant, a dog, and a dog-eater.

one- Vishnu

As per Vishnu Sahasranam, Eko Naika Sah: Ka: Kim. These are the names of Vishnu which calls Vishnu as ONE.

Yogarurukshuhu- apprentice yogi

Yogaaroodhaha- Ascended master yogi(Source- Patanjali Yoga Sutras)

Types of samadhis: 1. Samprajnata Samadhi 2. Asamprajnata Samadhi

Samprajnata Samadhi is the primary state of mind called Samadhi. In this state, a soul starts to absorb the deeper meanings of Vedas, Brahmasutras, Upanishaths and also implements it successfully up to most extent.

This state is attained after 'The Dark Night of a Soul' phase of Spiritual Awakening. Apart from this, a soul also develops certain psychic abilities like clairvoyance, lucid dreaming, telepathy, clairsentience, automatic writing and receives Vedic knowledge through Soul Masters through various psychic abilities. The soul also receives confidential insights about his root form(swaroopa) and about various incarnations. This is basically a starting point of Asamprajnata Samadhi. Normally, amongst the 6 chakras, 5 would have got activated. There may be certain sensations in the 6th chakra or Ajna chakra or the 3rd eye, whenever you do mindful breathing or chanting mantras like AUM or Vedic hymns. Samprajnata samadhi is fallible, means a soul can experience spiritual descendance at any time, due to loss of energy or loss of consciousness. We'll be sharing post on conserving energy or maintaining consciousness.

Asamprajnata Samadhi- After the activation of the third eye, Yogi will be able to see God everywhere & worship God everywhere, although he was able to practice this for some(limited) duration during Samprajnata Samadhi. This state of mind can be called as 'THE 1st stage of PINNACLE OF CONSCIOUSNESS' when the soul residing in the body. Now the Yogis has become a proper 'VYAPTOPASAKAHA', meaning ' a person who's able to see & worship God everywhere.' In this state, a Yogi remains in an eternal state of bliss with completely detachment towards worldly things and self-most importantly. Asamprajnata Samadhi is infallible, means the soul can't undergo spiritual descendance.

As per Bhagavata Purana, there are 3 types of by which soul worships God(starting from the lowest to highest).

  1. Prateekopasakaaha: This is a prelim stage of worship; a soul will be worshipping God through idol worship. [Idol itself is not God, idol is where there's special presence of God. It's basically a medium to reach out to God.]

  2. Aprateekopasakaaha: In this stage, a soul will be able to see, worship God in himself, idols as well as living creatures. This phase is little advanced to the latter one. Souls are in Samprajnata Samadhi, worship this way.

  3. Vyaptopaasakaaha: In this stage, a soul sees God everywhere, in idols also, non-living things; in himself, and in others. These features of worship are seen in a soul who has attained Asamprajnata Samadhi & higher levels.

A soul becomes a sthithaprajna, will be unbattered by external influences or anything, he will be immersed in the eternal bliss, by experiencing the divinity within & everywhere, once he reaches the stage of Asamprajnata Samadhi.

Asamprajnaata samadhi explanation: chapter 2 verse 55

श्रीभगवानुवाच |

प्रजहाति यदा कामान्सर्वान्पार्थ मनोगतान् |

आत्मन्येवात्मना तुष्ट: स्थितप्रज्ञस्तदोच्यते || 55||

The Supreme Lord said: O Parth, when one discards all selfish desires and cravings of the senses that torment the mind, and becomes satisfied in the realization of the self, such a person is said to be transcendentally situated.

After Asamprajanta Samadhi, Yogi with his continued yogic practices and worship, reaches 'Brahma Bhootaha'. In this stage, we could see a Yogi gaining further psychic abilities, and better clarity on God.

In 'Autobiography of a Yogi', Paramahansa Yogananda Ji says, a Yogi has two bodies, and can split his soul to attain many bodies. He can manipulate energy in the form of waves, rays, control involuntary functions of hisbody. These can be seen in Brahma Boothaha, (Ultimate stage of Consciousness).

Thirumalai Krishmaacharya was a court pandit in the court of Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, Mysore Sansthan. He lived for 112 years.

Pic credits- Hindu Secrets

Hope this inspires you!

Thank you so much !


94 views0 comments


Join the Club

Join our email list and get access to specials deals exclusive to our subscribers.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page